m_Rwanda to face Libya in 2015 Afcon qualifiers

Amavubi training

First round fixtures

May 16-18,

Liberia vs. Lesotho

Kenya vs. Comoros

Madagascar vs. Uganda

Mauritania vs. Equatorial Guinea

Namibia vs. Congo

Libya vs. Rwanda

Burundi vs. Botswana

Central African Republic vs. Guinea Bissau

Swaziland vs. Sierra Leone

Gambia vs. Seychelles

Sao Tome e Principe vs. Benin

Malawi vs. Chad

Tanzania vs. Zimbabwe

Mozambique vs. South Sudan

Amavubi Stars have been drawn against Libya in the African Nations Cup qualifiers for the 2015 championships after the drawing ceremony which was held yesterday in Cairo, Egypt.

Rwanda who are searching for a new head coach after Eric Nshimiyimana’s one-year reign expires this month will play first leg match away in Tripoli before hosting the 2013 CHAN title holders in Kigali for return fixture.

Neighbours Kenya will play Comoros, Tanzania will play Zimbabwe, and Uganda tackles Madagascar while Burundi will confront Botswana.

The first leg matches will be played between May 16 and 18 with return fixtures slated for May 30, 31 or June 1.

The 2015 Africa Nations Cup tournament will be held from January 17 to February 8 in Morocco. The opening Ceremony will be in Marrakech.

In case Amavubi qualify to the next round, they will be drawn for the 3rd preliminary round where 14 teams divided into two (7 Vs 7) play each other on a home and away knock out basis which games will be played between July 18th – 20th (First leg) and August 1st – 3rd (second leg).

Here Rwanda will play the winner between Namibia and Congo.

The seven winners of the ties will then join the 21 teams seeded in the seven groups with group matches set to be played on Fridays/Saturdays and Wednesdays.

The Winner between Namibia/Congo and Rwanda/Libya will join Group A which comprises of defending champions Nigeria, South Africa and Sudan.

Nigeria can be confident of making the 16-team finals to be staged in Moroccan cities Agadir, Marrakech, Rabat and Tangier.

They are a bogey side for South Africa – never losing a competitive match to Bafana Bafana (The Boys) – and Sudan has struggled lately.

Every draw creates a ‘group of death’ and Group G fits the bill with Tunisia, Egypt, Senegal and one from Burundi, Botswana, Central African Republic and Guinea-Bissau.

Egypt has lifted the Cup of Nations a record seven times, hosts Tunisia triumphed in 2004 and Senegal were the strongest third seeds.

Another mini-league set to generate fierce competition is Group D, which includes Ivory Coast, Cameroon and the Democratic Republic of Congo.

The remaining place in that section will be filled by Swaziland, Sierra Leone, Gambia or the Seychelles.

Didier Drogba-skippered Ivory Coast started the last five Cup of Nations tournaments as title favourites, but the closest they came to glory was finishing runners-up twice.

Cameroon has shown signs of recovery under German coach Volker Finke after failing to make the last two African tournaments.

DR Congo rank among the sleeping giants of African football and much could hinge on who succeeds veteran Frenchman Claude le Roy as coach.

Ghana, whose last of four Cup of Nations triumphs came in 1982, should not be unduly troubled by modest fellow West African opponents Togo and Guinea.

Uganda, whose last appearance at the tournament was 36 years ago, Madagascar, Mauritania and Equatorial Guinea are going to battle for the other Group E slot.

Shock 2012 champions Zambia are another country who can have no complaints having drawn the Cape Verde Islands, Niger and one from Tanzania, Zimbabwe, Mozambique and South Sudan.

Debutants Cape Verde reached the 2013 quarterfinals and will be favoured to advance with the Chipolopolo (Copper Bullets).

Burkina Faso, who greatly exceeded expectations by reaching the final last year before losing 1-0 to Nigeria, are in Group C with Gabon and Angola.

That section could be completed by Kenya – long overdue a finals appearance – with Liberia, Lesotho and the Comoros Islands the other contenders.

Group B comprises Mali, Algeria, resurgent Ethiopia and one from Sao Tome e Principe, Benin, Malawi and Chad.

The group matches will be played 5-6 September and 10 September; 10-11 October and 15 October; 14-15 November and 19 November.

The first and second from the seven groups will automatically qualify for the finals in Morocco joined by the third best in all groups and hosts Morocco to make the 16 teams.

Morocco will complete the cast as hosts. Amavubi last appeared at the Nations Cup in 2004.

Full Draw:

Group A: Nigeria, South Africa, Sudan, Namibia/Congo, Libya/Rwanda

Group B: Mali, Algeria, Ethiopia, winner of SaoTome/Benin, Malawi/Chad

Group C: Burkina Faso, Angola, Gabon, winner of Liberia/Lesotho, Kenya/Comoros

Group D: Cote d’Ivoire, Cameroon, DR Congo, Swaziland/Sierra Leone, Gambia/Seychelles

Group E: Ghana, Togo, Guinea, Madagascar/Uganda, Mauritania/EqGuinea

Group F: Zambia, Cape Verde, Niger, Tanzania/Zimbabwe, Mozambique/South Sudan

Group G: Tunisia, Egypt, Senegal, winner of Burundi/Botswana/CAR/Guinea Bissau

Share Button