m_Rwanda calls women football team

Coach Grace Nyinawumuntu

THE national women national team, Grace Nyinawumuntu has summoned a 36-women provisional squad to start preparations for the CAF Africa Women’s Championship qualifiers scheduled to start next month.

The race to the event in Namibia will see Rwanda take on Kenya for the very first time in the history of women’s football in the region as both teams try to qualify for the ninth edition of the continental tournament.

Rwanda will host Kenya in the first leg slated to be held in the weekend of February 13-15 in Kigali according to the fixtures which will also see a record 25 teams vie for the seven places at the ninth edition of the CAF event scheduled to be held from October 11-25.

Nyinawumuntu, 31 years old, on Thursday named a 36-team which will be trimmed to 24 players before hosting Kenya in the decisive qualifier.

Naming the provisional squad, Nyinawumuntu believes Rwanda will dispatch Kenya to reach the next qualifying round.

“I am going to take this team into intensive drills; play some build-up matches against U-15 boys teams and from there the national team will be in good shape to face Kenya,” added AS Kigali coach.

The second leg is scheduled for February 28-March 2 in Nairobi, with the winner proceeding to the next round to face the winner between the Nigeria/Sierra Leone fixture.

Rwanda’s last competitive game was in 2009 against Uganda in the preliminary round of the FIFA World Cup Qualifiers which they lost 1-0 at the Regional stadium in Nyamirambo.

The second and final round matches will be played from May 23-25 next year and the second leg matches will be played between June 7-8 to decide who joins Namibia for the actual championship in Windhoek.

Equatorial Guinea won the last edition after beating South Africa 4-0 in the final while Cameroon edged Nigeria 1-0 to claim third place in the 8th African Women Championship.

Equatorial Guinea runners-up South Africa and bronze medalists, Cameroon have received first round byes and will only join the qualifiers from the second round.

Rwanda women squad: Judith Ingabire [AS Kigali], Helene Uwizeyimana [AS Kigali], Appoline Umuhoza [Inyemera], Janviere [AS Kigali], Bellancille Uwisezerano [Esir], Gloria Nibagwire [AS Kigali], Clementine Mukamana [AS Kigali], Marie Claire Uwamahoro [AS Kigali], Clementine Ayingeneye [AS Kigali], Edith Umulisa [AS Kigali], Claudine Murorunkwere [Rambura], Gloriose Uwamahoro [Rambura], Jeanette Mukeshimana [Inyemera], Diane Kitumaine [Winners], Dada Umutoni [Inyemera], Alice Kalimba [AS Kigali], Chadia Uwamahirwe [AS Kigali], Sophie Niyomugaba [AS Kigali], Alice Niyoyita [Kamonyi], Mediatrice Abayo [Kamonyi], Albertine Mukashema [Inyemera], Nadia Uwineza [AS Kigali], Marie Claire Uwamahoro [Inyemera], Yvonne Mukamaliza [Inyemera], Saida Ntagisanimana [AS Kigali], Djamila Abimana [Kamonyi],Agathe Iririkumutimana [Les Lionnes], Jeanne Nyirahafashimana [AS Kigali],Anne Marie Ibangarye [AS Kigali], Florence Imanizabayo [Kamonyi], Vumirya [Winners], Claire Umulisa [Winners], Fatuma kankindi [Inyemera], Anatolie Nirere [Inyemera], Grace Uwimana [Rambura] and Oscarie Iragena [Zambia]

Share Button