South Africa came out the last men’s field hockey team to qualify for this summer’s London Olympic Games after beating hosts Japan 2-1 in Sunday’s final of the qualifications.


A total of 12 teams have earned the berths to the Olympics, namely Argentina, Australia, Belgium, Britain, Germany, India, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Korea and Spain besides South Africa. On Saturday, Japan won 5-1 over Azerbaijan to become the last qualified women’s side, joining Argentina, Australia, Belgium, Britain, China, Germany, the Netherlands, New Zealand, South Africa,

South Korea and the United States.


In Sunday’s men’s final, Thornton McDade and Lloyd Norris Jones scored in the second half to help the top-seeded South Africa secure its third straight appearance at the Olympics. Kenji Kitazato pulled a goal back with six minutes left for Japan, who had been bidding its first Olympic slot in 44 years.





Share Button